And then it started…

December 2012 Miami Heat is his favorite NBA team. I took him to a game for our first Christmas together.
December 2012
Miami Heat is his favorite NBA team. I took him to a game for our first Christmas together.

I spent every moment I could with him.  He graduated college in May 2012 and moved back home.  We spent time together constantly, every moment possible.  I wasn’t ready for a relationship. Quite frankly, I was scared.  Scared to get close to him.  Scared to let him in at all.  I kept him at an arm’s length for a while.  He is too amazing for that though.  He won my heart and I actually fell in love with a man for the first time.  He inspired me to go back to school and supported me to obtain my first degree.  He has treated my child, Blaine, as if he was always his own.  I was happy to let him in.  I was happy to let him love me and my son.  We spent every moment we could for 15 months.

And then it started…
September 2013. Ayo has never missed Blaine's birthday.
September 2013.
Ayo has never missed Blaine’s birthday.

Long Distance Relationship.  In August 2013, he moved 287 miles away from us.  I cried every night and most days for a while.  The only thing that sustained me was looking forward to hearing his voice when the day was done.  Skype, texting, and social media became our communication.  My iPhone stays close, nothing short of actually implanting it in the palm of my hand.  That phone means nothing to me when he is here.
Blaine & I have learned to adjust and we keep a busy schedule.  Life is amazing and God has been really good to us.  Ayo and I have been together for 2.5 years.  1 year and 2 months of our relationship has been long distance.

This is only the beginning…

Leave a Reply

