Dr. Kuku in the making…

Jeremiah 29:11 — For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.

image2

   The evening of Thursday, May 14th, 2015.  I have never seen him so excited about anything.  He has never smiled, kissed me, hugged me, been as happy as he was that night.  I hope the joy that he has lasts a lifetime.

Thursday morning at 10:00 am, Ayo graduated from LSU Health Science Center with a Masters in Public Health.  It was an amazing experience to watch as the man I love walked across the stage.  I have personally seen the hard work and dedication he has put into obtaining this degree.  It hasn’t been easy for him and God definitely deserves all the credit for his success.  I admire my man for his character, determination, and persistence.image3

We attended a nursing school party to celebrate the graduates and have a little fun.  I met several of his friends and really enjoyed seeing Ayo smile and relax.  While we were sitting together, just us two, he received a phone call.  Not even a minute into his conversation, he stood up and grabbed my shoulder.  His eyes were huge and he sounded completely surprised and shocked when he looked at me and said, “BABE…”!  Once I heard his mom’s voice on the phone, I stated and asked, “You got in!!??”.  He shook his head “yes”, kissed me on the forehead over and over, and hugged me tighter than he ever has.  A calm came over me and I took in every bit of his reaction.  This wonderful man, MY man, was accepted by the LSU Health Science Center for med school beginning August 2015.  This is something that he has desired and waited patiently for.  Just when he thought a master’s was the greatest blessing that Thursday had to offer, he finds out that he is going to be a doctor!!  “Dr. Kuku” and I enjoyed the rest of the night and celebrated every minute, taking in the surprise of this wonderful opportunity and our hopes for the future.  I have never seen him so happy!  Personally, I have been completely overwhelmed with the pride and excitement that I feel for him.  It is a moment that I’m sure neither one of us will forget!!

image1image4

   Babe, I thank God for this opportunity in your life.  I am privileged and look forward to supporting you on this journey!  Thank you for allowing me to be a part!!  Thank you for choosing me to be “Ayo’s babygirl”!

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

