His Timing!

It is the beginning of 2016 and we have both been busy.  Ayo, my SO, has 3.5 years until he is finished with his four years of medical school.  I have 1.5 to 2 years until I graduate with my bachelor’s degree.  Blaine, my son, will move on to the fourth grade in August.
3.5 years seems near impossible at times, but I have to remind myself that it is better than 4.  The chances of me planning a wedding, co-signing for our first house, or decorating a baby nursery this year are more than slim.  Since when do the privileges and blessings in life just come when you want them to though?  I mean, anything worth having is worth working hard for, right?  It’s harder to appreciate things in life when they are handed to you as easily as I’ve desired.

Long distance relationships are difficult and we have faced numerous challenges along the way so far.  In the end, in God’s perfect timing, it will all be worth it.  We will be stronger not only as a couple, but as individuals as well.  As for wanting to get married, buy a house, or have a baby, these things will happen when they are supposed to.  I’ve heard before that “rush equals ruin”.  On the other hand, patience will bring us to a more content place in life.  I’m trusting God for his hand in our relationship and family.  I loose focus at times, but I try to keep it in the forefront of my mind that God’s timing is perfect, not mine!  We have a lot to look forward to, why rush it?  It will unfold beautifully in time, better than I could ever imagine.

For now… this is my life… this is our life… and I think it’s beautiful!

family

This post was inspired by the prompt: Review

 

About the post

Uncategorized

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. This is so encouraging and I’m glad that you are hopeful and grateful for what you have! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

