MLK Weekend Visit

January 15th – 19th, 2016

Blaine and I took a road trip to NOLA for MLK weekend to see Ayo and to experience some new adventures.  Ayo is in his second week of med school and already has a mid-term coming up this Friday.  Needless to say, he had PPTs and lecture notes on his mind.  We spent some time with him at LSU.  It was good for Blaine to see Ayo working hard and focusing on his studies.  Blaine even commented, “Ayo is really brave and he works really hard so that he can be a doctor.  That’s really good!”.  At nine years old, he notices and is impressed by Ayo’s drive and work ethic.  I couldn’t ask for a better Father figure for my son!
Friday, we came into the city and went straight to LSU to see Ayo.  That night when we got to his apartment, he had bought us my favorite… a KING CAKE!!  I’ve eaten a slice every day since then.  Oops!
Saturday, Ayo went to school to study and I took Blaine to the Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium.  This is boy heaven for sure!  He saw tarantula, ants, beetles, butterflies, etc.  We walked around the streets afterwards to see the performers!
Sunday, we attended church together and had a great lunch at Bobby Hebert’s Cajun Cannon.  It was a place we hadn’t been to before and super delicious!  I was supposed to leave on this day.  Instead, I was very emotional and the separation anxiety began to kick in.  We decided that it wouldn’t hurt if I left on Monday instead.
Monday was an extra day together.  It was hard to leave, but surprisingly I didn’t cry.
I’m on my first week back to school now.  I’m starting this semester already ready for it to be the end!  🙂  Wish me luck!  Until next time…

This post was inspired by the prompt: visits

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

